LOWELL FULSON "I've Got the Blues & Then Some" 1969-1971

Lowell Fulson experimented with various aspects of the blues throughout his long career. West Side's I've Got the Blues & Then Some: 1969-1971 collects his funky late-'60s Kent sides which combine Fulson's gritty blues guitar, a boogaloo beat and the wah-wah infested psychedelia of the times. Seven of these tracks have never previously been issued and "Lonesome Christmas, Pt. 2" is an extended version that was edited to fit the single format of the time. - by Al Campbell, AllmusicI first bought a cassette-tape of what were apparently these 2 Jewel recordings - In a heavy bag/I've got the blues, in the late 80's on a whim. It blew me and everyone I played it to away. Unfortunately, my car along with the tape was stolen soon after and I could never remember the actual name of the tape. I soon found out these songs weren't what Lowell Fulson was known for, i.e. his previous style. It has only been with the help of the internet, after more than a decade, that I have finally worked out what the records on that tape were.
Hearing these songs again is like finding old friends!
These sessions were fantastic, with Lowell's soulful voice in fine form and David Hood's slightly funky bass kept everything grooving along. Live favourite, Big Jay McNeely, also tooted his horn on these records. It's a shame they're not better known. Blues purists apparently dismissed them at the time because of the use of the wah-wah pedal on some of the songs but to these ears the soul/blues/rock fusion sounds more than fine.They haven't dated at all.
On this double CD you get both the above mentioned records remastered plus some bonus out-takes and 45's.

trax CD 1:
01 Lady In The Rain 02 Letter Home 03 Too Soon 04 Why Don't We Do It In The Road? 05 Sleeper 06 How Do You Want Your Man 07 Don't Leave Me 08 Thug 09 Do You Feel It? 10 Don't Destroy Me.mp3
11 Lonesome Christmas Part 1 12 Lonesome Christmas Part 2 (Single Edit) 13 Bluesway (Inst.) 14 My Baby 15 Man Of Motion 16 Teach Me 17 Change Of Heart 18 Every Second A Fool Is Born 19 Look At You Baby
trax CD 2:
01 I've Got The Blues 02 Man On The Run 03 This Feeling 04 Trouble Everywhere 05 Cheating Woman 06 Searchin' Out 07 Stoned To The Bone 08 Last One To Know 09 Baby 10 Crying Won't Help 11 Deep In Love 12 Please Let Me Go 13 Stop And Think 14 You're Gonna Miss Me 15 Henpecked 16 Hurry Home 17 I Started Out Wrong 18 Take My Hand 19 Lonesome Christmas
...served by Gyro1966...

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS


Post a Comment


Get Paid To Promote, Get Paid To Popup, Get Paid Display Banner

Environment Powered by Mysiterank
Preview on Feedage: lily-putts Add to My Yahoo! Add to Google! Add to AOL! Add to MSN
Subscribe in NewsGator Online Add to Netvibes Subscribe in Pakeflakes Subscribe in Bloglines Add to Alesti RSS Reader
Add to Groups Add to Windows Live iPing-it Add to Feedage RSS Alerts Add To Fwicki
Feedage Grade A rated Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory Subscribe My Feed